Faculty

English Department Faculty


Katherine F. Ahern
Assistant Professor of English
B.A., Carnegie Mellon
M.F.A., George Mason University
Ph. D., North Carolina State University
katherine.ahern@liu.edu

James P. Bednarz
Professor of English
B.A., Columbia University
M.A., M.Phil, Ph.D., Columbia University
james.bednarz@liu.edu

Joan Digby
Director, Honors Program; Professor of English
B.A., New York University
M.A., University of Delaware
Ph.D., New York University
joan.digby@liu.edu

Thomas Fahy
Director, American Studies Program
Graduate Adviser, English Department
Associate Professor of English
B.A., University of California at Davis
M.A., Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
thomas.fahy@liu.edu

Margaret Hallissy
Professor of English
B.A., St. John’s University
M.A., Ph.D., Fordham University
margaret.hallissy@liu.edu

Katherine C. Hill-Miller
Professor of English
B.A., Fordham University
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
katherine.hill-miller@liu.edu

John Lutz
Chair, English DepartmentAssociate Professor of English
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
john.lutz@liu.edu

Edmund Miller
Senior Professor of English
B.A., LIU Pos
tM.A., Ohio State University
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
edmund.miller@liu.edu

Suzanne Nalbantian
Professor of English
B.A., Barnard College at Columbia University
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
suzanne.nalbantian@liu.edu

Dennis Pahl
Professor of English
B.A., University at Albany, State University of New York
M.A., Ph.D., University at Buffalo, State University of New York
dennis.pahl@liu.edu

Wendy Ryden
Coordinator, Writing Across the Curriculum
Professor of English
B.A., Drew University
M.F.A., Brooklyn College
Ph.D., The Graduate Center, CUNY
wendy.ryden@liu.edu

John S. Scheckter
Professor of English
Co-director, LIU Post Poetry Center
A.B., Grinnell College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Iowa
john.scheckter@liu.edu

Jonna Semeiks
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Hunter College, City University of New York
Ph.D., Rutgers University
jonna.semeiks@liu.edu

Rachel Szekely
Director, ESL Program Co-director, The Poetry Center
Associate Professor of English
B.A., Smith College
Ph.D., The Graduate Center, CUNY
rachel.szekely@liu.edu


CONTACT

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Nathaniel Bowditch, Dean

Joan Ruckel
Executive Assistant to the Dean