Return to Faculty List


Lisa Robinson

Lisa Robinson

Associate Professor of Film

B.A. Film Studies Program: University of California, BerkeleyM.F.A. Graduate Film Directing Program: New York University, Tisch School of the Arts


Lisa Robinson is an award-winning screenwriter and director. CLAIRE IN MOTION, a feature film she co-directed with Annie J. Howell, stars Betsy Brandt (BREAKING BAD) and premiered at the SXSW Film Festival in 2016 before going on to festivals around the world. The film received excellent reviews including from the LA times who called it "a quietly, affecting psychological mystery." It was picked up by Breaking Glass for a theatrical and all platform release in January 2017.

Robinson and Howell's previous film SMALL, BEAUTIFULLY MOVING PARTS, starring Anna Margaret Hollyman, also premiered at SXSW and went on to win the Audience Award at the RiverRun Film Festival and the Sloan Feature Film Prize at the Hamptons International Film Festival. Roger Ebert called the film "effortlessly engaging," and it was released theatrically and in all platforms by Film Movement.

Robinson has directed several episodes of television, including the Emmy award-winning period crime drama A CRIME TO REMEMBER as well as the ITVS futuristic series FUTURESTATES, that had its series premiere at the Tribeca Film Festival.

She wrote and directed several award-winning short films that have screened at festivals around the world including Cannes-Directors Fortnight and Telluride. She also works as a screenwriter and wrote MIND BLAST, an IMAX film for the Blue Man Group, that is in development.

She is the recipient of the Martin E. Segal Prize, the Mitsubishi Digital Media Lab Award for Excellence, and a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship and received her M.F.A. from New York University's Graduate Film Directing Program.



Film Directing, Production, Screenwriting, Editing


  • Recipient, Sloan Foundation Feature Film Award, Hamptons Itl. Film Festival
  • Recipient, Audience Award, River Run Film Festival
  • Recipient, Newman’s Own Fellowship – Yaddo
  • Recipient, Sloan Foundation Feature Production Award
  • Recipient, New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship
  • Recipient, Martin E. Segal Prize for Excellence in Film
  • Recipient, Lew Wasserman Fellowship
  • Recipient, Gold Prize and Kodak Award, New York Expo
  • Finalist, Wasserman Award
  • Recipient, Martin Scorsese Post Award
  • Recipient, Mitsubishi (Japan) Digital Media Lab Grant
  • Recipient, Clive J. Davis Award


  • Director, "A Crime to Remember," Emmy-Award winning TV series - Discovery Channel – 4 episodes (2016-2017)
  • Co-director/Co-writer, "Claire in Motion," feature film (2016)
  • Director/Writer, "Hollow," "Futurestates" Series – ITVS/PBS – 1 episode (2013)
  • Co-director/Co-writer, "Small, Beautifully Moving Parts," feature film (2011)
  • Co-creator, "Sparks," Web Series syndicated by Sundance Channel (2008-2009)
  • Director/writer, short films including "Breaker" (2001), "Head Stand" (2000), "Heads, Tires & Other Studies" (1997)